The following parishes and places formed the Grantham Poor Law Union:

In Lincolnshire: Ancaster, Barrowby, Belton, Bitchfield, Boothby Pagnell, Braceby, Burton Coggles, Carlton Scroop, Colsterworth, Denton, Easton, Grantham, Great Gonerby, Great Ponton, Gunby, Haceby, Harlaxton, Harrowby, Humby, Heydour, Honington, Hough on the Hill, Ingoldsby, Keisby, Lenton, Little Gonerby, Little Ponton, Londonthorpe, Manthorpe, New Somerby, North Stoke, North Witham, Old Somerby, Osgodby, Pickworth, Ropsley, Sapperton, Skillington, South Stoke, South Witham, Spittlegate, Stainby, Stroxton, Welby, Woolsthorpe and Wyville with Hungerton.

In Leicestershire: Belvoir, Bottesford, Croxton Kerrial, Harston, Knipton, Muston, Redmile.

Records held at Lincolnshire Archives (this list includes most of the records held):

N.B. Many of these records are closed for 100 years

The Board and Officers

  • Service registers 1862-1930
  • Service registers (out relief) 1894-1929
  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians 1863-1829
  • House Committee minutes 1914-1930
  • Finance Committee minutes 1927-1929
  • Women’s Committee minutes 1928-1930
  • Boarding-out Committee minutes 1927-1930
  • Relief Committee minutes 1927-1929
  • Visiting and Contracts Committee minutes 1898-1914


  • General Ledger 1923-1930
  • Out-relief Minutes 1895-1909, 1914-1930
  • Vaccinator’s register (Burton Coggles district) 1899-1930