The following parishes and places formed the Horncastle Poor Law Union:

Asgarby, Ashby Puerorum, Asterby, Bag Enderby, Baumber, Belchford, Benniworth, Bucknall, East Barkwith, Cawkwell, Claxby Pluckacre, Coningsby, Dalderby, Edlington, Fulletby, Gautby, Goulceby, Great Sturton, Greetham, Hagworthingham, Haltham, Hameringham, Hatton, Hemingby, High Toynton, Horncastle, Horsington, Kirkby on Bain, Kirkstead, Langton by Horncastle, Langton by Wragby, Low Toynton, Lusby, Mareham le Fen, Mareham on the Hill, Market Stainton, Martin, Miningsby, Minting, Moorby, Panton, Ranby, Revesby, Roughton, Salmonby, Scamblesby, Scrafield, Scriveslby, Somersby, Sotby, Stixwould, Tattershall, Tattershall Thorpe, Tetford, Thimbleby, Thornton, Tumby, Tupholme, Waddingworth, West Ashby, West Barkwith, West Torrington, Wildmore, Wilksby, Winceby, Wispington, Wood Enderby, Woodhall, Woodhall Spa, Wragby.

The Fen allotments attached to parishes in the Horncastle Union would also have been under the jurisdiction of the Guardians of the Horncastle Poor Law Union. Maps of, and more details about, the Fen Allotments may be found in “A Gazetteer of Historic Lincolnshire for Family and Local Historians” published by the Lincolnshire FHS (3rd Edition 2007)

Records held at Lincolnshire Archives (this list includes most of the records held):

N.B. Many of these records are closed for 100 years

  • Registers of officers and servant 1903-1930
  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians 1837-1925
  • Building Committee minutes 1837-1841
  • General Purposes Committee minutes
  • Wages of servants 1921-22, 1927-29
  • Letter book 1916-1918
  • Vaccination Committee minutes 1891-1914