The following parishes and places formed the Sleaford Poor Law Union:

Anwick, Asgarby, Ashby de la Launde, Aswarby, Aunsby, Billinghay, Blankney, Bloxholm, Brauncewell, Burton Pedwardine, Byards Leap, Cranwell, Culverthorpe, Dembleby, Digby, Dorrington, Evedon, Ewerby, Great Hale, Haverholm, Heckington, Helpringham, Holdingham, Howell, Kelby, Kirkby Green, Kirkby Laythorpe, Leadenham, Leasingham, Little Hale, Martin, New Sleaford, Newton, North Kyme, North Rauceby, Old Sleaford, Osbournby, Quarrington, Rowston, Roxholm, Ruskington, Scopwick, Scot Willoughby, Scredington, Silk Willoughby, South Kyme, South Rauceby, Spanby, Swaton, Temple Bruer, Threckingham, Thorpe Tilney, Timberland, Walcott by Billingay, Walcot by Folkingham, Welbourn, Wellingore and Wilsford.

Records held at Lincolnshire Archives (this list includes most of the records held):

N.B. Many of these records are closed for 100 years

  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians 1836-1930
  • Boarding-out Committee minutes 1928-1929
  • House Committee minutes 1914-22, 1926-28


  • General Ledger 1838-40, 1927-30
  • Quarterly returns of pauper lunatics 1867-1871
  • Annual returns of pauper lunatics 1867-1890
  • Letter book 1837
  • Admission and Discharge registers 1896-1939
  • Admission and Discharge registers (Porter) 1922-1935
  • Inmates Examination book 1929-1948
  • Register of Births 1914-1929
  • Creed Register 1904-1940
  • Punishment Books 1853-1948
  • Register of friends c1898-c1930
  • Vaccination register (Wilsford District) 1899-1929