The following parishes and places formed the Caistor Poor Law Union:

Atterby, Bigby, Bishop Norton, Brocklesby, Buslingthorpe, Cabourn, Caistor, Claxby, Clixby, Croxby, Cuxwold, East Torrington, Glentham, Grasby, Great Limber, Holton le Moor, Keelby, Kingerby, Kirkby cum Osgodby, Kirmond le Mire, Legsby, Linwood, Lissington, Market Rasen, Middle Rasen, Nettleton, Newton by Toft, Normanby le Wold, North Kelsey, North Owersby, North Willingham, Riby, Rothwell, Searby cum Owmby, Sixhills, Snitterby, Somerby, South Kelsey, South Owersby, Stainton le Vale, Swallow, Swinhope, Tealby, Thornton le Moor, Thoresway, Thorganby, Toft next Newton, Usselby, Waddingham, Walesby and West Rasen.

The following parishes were in Caistor Union until 1890 when they became the Great Grimsby Poor Law Union:

Ashby cum Fenby, Aylesby, Barnoldby le Beck, Beelsby, Bradley, Brigsley, Clee, Cleethorpes, East Ravendale, Great Coates, Great Grimsby, Habrough, Hatcliffe, Hawersby with Beesby, Healing, Humberston, Immingham, Irby, Laceby, Little Coates, Scartho, Stallingborough, Waltham, Weelsby, West Ravendale and Wold Newton.

Records held at Lincolnshire Archives (this list includes most of the records held):

N.B. Many of these records are closed for 100 years

  • Register of Officers and Servants 1897-1930
  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians (Draft) 1836-1851
  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians 1848-63, 1874-1930
  • Boarding Out Committee minutes 1878-1930
  • Building and Farming Committee minutes 1913-1927
  • Finance Committee minutes 1909-1929
  • House Committee minutes 1913-1930
  • Special Committee minutes 1902-1921


  • Boarding-out receipt and payment 1910-1929
  • Bastardy Orders Register 1881-1906
  • House Committee Reports 1916-1927
  • Master’s reports 1925-1927

At North East Lincolnshire Archives

  • Vaccination Officer’s register (Grimsby district) 1875-1876
  • Records of the Great Grimsby Union from 1890