The following parishes and places formed the Stamford Poor Law Union:

In Lincolnshire - Barholm and Stowe, Braceborough, Greatford, Stamford All Saints, St George, St John, St Mary, St Michael; Tallington, Uffington, West Deeping, Wilsthorpe

In Rutland - Casterton Magna and Parva, Clipsham, Essendine, Ketton, Pickworth, Ryhall, Tinwell, and Tixover

In Northamptonshire -Bainton, Barnack with Pilsgate & Southorpe, Collyweston, Duddington, Easton on the Hill, Stamford St Martin (Stamford Baron), Thornhaugh, Ufford with Ashton, Wansford, Wittering

In Huntingdonshire – Stibbington

Records held at Lincolnshire Archives (this list includes most of the records held):

N.B. Many of these records are closed for 100 years

  • Registers of Officers and Servants 1893-1930
  • Minutes of the Board of Guardians 1835-88, 1904-30


  • General Ledger 1915-1927
  • Treasurer’s Ledger 1928-1930
  • Parochial Ledger 1911-27
  • Admission and Discharge Register 1920-1925
  • Visitors’ and Visiting Committee reports 1870-1914
  • Vaccinator’s Register 1925-1930